Have a Nike New Year.

January 1, 2010

Last night, we went to a New Year’s Eve ‘gathering.’  It was fun.  There was family and friends and food.  🙂  The kids got to play with their cousins, and it was funny to watch the ‘older’ kids play Wii, for the first time.

Everyone kept talking about what kind of year they had.  Most had a ‘terrible’ year.  They couldn’t wait for the new year to start, in hopes that with a new year would bring better situations.  It’s sad that the only reason they have to be a little faithful that a better year is coming, is the simple changing of the calendar page.  It doesn’t reflect poorly on them, it reflects poorly on the word “hope,” again.

If you recall, Hope and I do not get along.

I won’t get into that.  I’m just too lazy.

Is it sad that I didn’t post any Christmas or Thanksgiving pics?  I didn’t give a rundown of what we did or who we were.  It’s sorta sad, but I’m just feeling too lazy.  I’m in a funk.  It’s a big enough effort to just log in and write something, anything at all.

But anyway…  My year hasn’t been terrible.  Last night, I realized it was a year of calm, due to a year of acceptance (or giving up, lol, depending on which side of the perspective you are on), a year of moving on (or trying to) and a year of.  That last one’s a doozy.

Just breathe.  That’s all you can do.

Should I resolve to do anything different?

These are things that are on my to-do list but actually have nothing to do with the new year:

Realize it’s ok to just, ‘Just’ (sometimes).

Nike

Run without guilt, even if I don’t have time

Take the kids on that missed camping trip, like I promised

Rent a cottage for a couple of weeks and just be

Become debt free (Create and stick to a budget that will pay off house/car at super speeds.  I know we can do it but I need to rent the cottage, guilt free first)

Get new flooring throughout the whole house (again, before I create the aforementioned budget)

Finish painting the inside of the house (before the flooring, but it’s okay because I’m almost done)

Breathe

Also, we have a baby coming!!!  Well, we don’t have a baby coming.  No chance of that.  Tardla’s baby girl is preggers.  I can’t wait to help plan the shower!!

Also, my baby sis is prolly going to be leaving the nest soon.  How soon?  I’m not sure.  I’d hate to speculate, but the writing’s on the wall.

So, anyway, Have a HAPPY New Year, I guess.  We’re not really here to “be happy” though, are we?  Aren’t we supposed to be learning, helping and loving?

So, Have a Productive Year of Living with the Correct Perspective and Following Through on Your Good Intentions!  I think people don’t say that because it’s too long.  It doesn’t roll off the tongue.  Well, just Nike.

Leave a Reply

