Lifehouse Joke

November 25, 2009

I have always loved that song.  It is one I blare in the car and sing to the top of my lungs when nobody is with me.

Today I realized it was about a 13 year old boy that committed suicide after constantly being bullied.  I don’t love it as much.  I feel selfish to use it as a venting song now that I have learned why it was created in the first place.

Or maybe, it’s good to have a venting song to keep people from getting to that point.  Oy.

Either way, my heart goes out to the boy that was bullied, the girl that took her life shortly after, and everyone else suffering with being bullied, depression, or whatever ails ya.  I also pray for the bully-ers.  They often don’t realize the weight of their own tongues.  And they often are also in terrible pain that oozes out in the form of bullying.

It’s all just so sad.

Leave a Reply

