Ephesians 5:4

November 24, 2009

   

Ephesians 5:4, “Neither filthiness, nor foolish talking, nor jesting, which are not convenient: but rather giving of thanks.”

Some other blogs I read are going to try to give a whole week of ‘thanks,’ according to the aforementioned scripture.  I have really thought about this.  I’m sad to say that even doing it for a day has given me the scary chills.  OUCH!  What does that make me?  Wow!  Talk about an eye-opener…

Anyway…I have decided to give it a go, sort of.  I will try to do it tomorrow, Thursday, and Friday.  Can alcohol be involved??  JKJKJKJK!

The idea is that you don’t gripe, don’t grump, don’t pester, don’t even joke.  You just give thanks for everything.  Example, “Thank you Lord for giving me a healthy body to enable me to get this laundry done,” instead of, “Why in the heck do I always have to do the cooking and cleaning??  I work too, you know!  I wish I could just work and then come home and sit on my arse!”

Get me?

It will be hard for me.  I know this because I spent all day yesterday watching what I say.  I’m really bad at ‘jesting’ or ‘coarsely joking.’  AKA, I have a smart mouth.

Oy.

Leave a Reply

