Hanging Out

December 31, 2007

I don’t really have a theme for this blog post. No tales of Christmas, illness or snow coming from this way today. We’ve basically been just hanging out these last few days. I’ve taken so many vacation days that I’ve had time to catch up on my house (sort of) with time leftover.

This time off from work has created a monster in me. All I want to do is go shopping and watch movies! I’m not used to being home without countless chores awaiting me so I have much more time on my hands than usual. We’ve had a few playdates for the kids but other than that it has been freeeeeeeeeeeeeeee time! I haven’t even really cooked all that much. Eeek! I just keep saying, “It’s still a holiday season. I’m taking vacation days. Let’s go out tonight.”

When we head to Effingham, I grab a Starbucks while we’re out. We all know I’m not a coffee drinker but the curiosity grabbed me and shook me until I gave in to the urge to pay $4 for a coffee. I can honestly say… It was worth it. Don’t tell anyone that I’m a closet Starbucks drinker. Hubs and Lou are the only two that know. I don’t mind hubs knowing (even though he is the only person I’ve ever met in my life that went there and ordered a reg brewed coffee). It’s okay to take chances, babe. Lou will guide us. She’s already helping me decide on my next tall purchase. She is our official coffee/tea guru. I love you Lou! I do! ANd I don’t care what you think! I love you for the chick you want to be and the chick you almost are! tee hee

Lou is also rounding up some good movie titles for me to watch. A little known secret in our house is that we have too many dvd’s. I’m not sure how many there are but I know it’s over 300. That doesn’t count videos. We have a lot of kid videos because hub’s mom has made it her mission for all of the grandchildren to own a video of every Disney movie ever made. Let me tell you… There have been a lot of Disney movies made.

We have so many dvd’s because we don’t rent. We’re terrible at returning them on time and found it was cheaper for us to just buy it from the store instead of paying late fees. It’s been a good system but now I’m RUNNING OUT OF ROOM! Anyway… even with all of those movies, Lou still tells me there are several movies I am missing. She begs me to NetFlix with her but I refuse. Lou — will you just send me an email with the titles? I’m ready for a fresh batch!!

Lou — do you wish I would stop calling you Lou?

By the way… Did we all know that Lou just earned her first degree?!! YAY LOU! WOO HOO LOU! I’m so proud of you. You’re actually doing it. Don’t give up!!! I love you!! Yay! Yay! Yay! I have to be nice to her because even though she’s a struggling college student now — one day she will be Dr. Lou. She’s going to fix me for free. She’s going to fix me because I’m broken.

Leave a Reply

